Reappointment: The fifth year!

I will get around to writing about my trip to Thailand soon. It will take awhile since so much stuff happened, but first I’d like to get into some more important stuff.

Last Tuesday was my re-contracting interview. It didn’t seem as harrowing as the re-contracting interview I had last year. Last year I felt more pressure, because the interviewer kept stressing that fourth and fifth year ALTs are special cases, and I had to prove why I was an excellent ALT.

This year the interview seemed much more laid back, but they did ask more of what I can do to give back to the JET community.

Of course, I had a small bit of paranoia hanging out in the back of my head that would I not be re-contracted for some or other. This year, however, I didn’t feel so stressed about it, and this morning my paranoia proved to be for nought. I received my A-3 form today, stating that I will be re-contracted for another, fifth, year! I’m excited and relieved.

Even though I now know I have another year to go, it’s finally sinking in that my time here in Japan is limited. the re-contracting interview I had last week, well, that was the last time I’ll be able to do that. Around this time next year, I’m going to have to be planning for what to do after JET. I’m lucky to have been given this great opportunity to be teaching here in Saitama for as long as I am, but this won’t last forever.

However, here’s to another year on JET. I hope it’s a great one!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 14:21:42

    Wonderful…..so happy for you…I have enjoyed reading and seeing all your adventures

    Reply

  2. shougayaki
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 06:36:45

    Congratulations. I’d love to hear more about that recontracting interview.

    Reply

Leave a comment